Granola

Eighteen and Crunchy

It’s Hard

Last night, after work, I was oh so tired and I had watched a little of The Hunger Games. For the last week I had been on Thanksgiving break and had no desire to go back to school. At about ten I turned off the TV, putting away Peeta’s lovely face, and drug myself upstairs to the bathroom. I brushed my face and stared at myself in the mirror. All I wanted to do was put on my sweats and a tee shirt and go to sleep.

I didn’t want to put my raw honey on or wait the ten minutes while it worked its magic. So, dear reader, I cheated. I dug out my almost-empty bottle of Neutrogena and squirted some of that on my hands and vigorously applied it to my face.

This morning when I got up I inspected my face. My skin was very dry and in some places, starting to peel. I’m definitely not using anymore synthetic facial washes.

Why am I telling you this?

I’ve had a revelation. Being ‘crunchy’ is hard. People who chose to be crunchy are constantly making decisions and sticking (or not) to them. I have to follow through with remembering to turn off my radio every time I exit my room. I have to be willing to wait ten minutes for a healthier clean face. I have to remember if it’s a wash or a wear day with my hair. I have to expend extra energy to make my friends their Christmas presents instead of just buying them. We check clothing tags. Buy locally. There are many personal and universal reasons we are crunchy but we all have to be motivated and want to be the way we are. This lifestyle isn’t passive in the least.

xo~ Granola

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 4, 2013 by in Skin and Face, Why the Crunch? and tagged , , , .

Follow me on Twitter

