Granola

Eighteen and Crunchy

Resolutions and a Message

PART 1: Resolutions

While I was on vacation I decided that the start of this year is going to be the start of my serious attempt at living a greener life. I have been poking around for a few months trying to decide what to do and haven’t done much at all. I started a list of resolutions, one for each month, while I was gone. I’m thinking of posting at the start of each month describing my goal and why I want to do this specifically. Then at the end I’ll describe how I went about doing it.

January’s resolution is to stop using plastic bags. I pack my lunch every day and invariably I use one or two bags that I end up throwing out. I’m planning on switching out the bags for reusable containers.

PART 2: Message in a bottle

For Christmas my family and I went to the beach for Christmas. The beach in question was the island of Eleuthra. While at a beach I found a wine bottle with the cork still in it. I washed it out and let it dry. Inside I placed a message or two. I left the url for this blog so that whoever found it could get in touch and let me know. I can’t wait to see if anyone responds!

IMG_4553

xo~ Granola

5 comments on “Resolutions and a Message

  1. Nick Woodhead
    January 3, 2014

    Hi Sarah Jane.

    I found your message in the bottle on Club Med beach. I am from England but live in Atlanta. Next time use a clear bottle as it is much easier to see that there is something in it.
    I have put out several messages in bottles over the years but none have been found so far, that is why I look closely at a lot of bottles on beaches. Where did you put the botlle in?
    My wife is a big knitter so knows the site you mentioned.

    This was our 4th trip to Eleuthera.

    Regards

    Nick Woodhead.

    • Granola
      January 7, 2014

      Hi Nick,
      We put the bottle in at beach behind The Beach
      House Restaurant. I guess it didn’t go very far. But I’m really glad that you found it and answered me. I’ll keep my eyes open and maybe some day I’ll be able to return the favor!
      Thanks,
      Sarah Jane

  2. Nick
    January 7, 2014

    Hi Sarah Jane
    It is difficult to get the bottles to go far unless there is an offshore wind or you go out in a boat and let them go. I also think the paper deteriorates in the sun and may become unreadable. I normally put a couple of my business cards in as well as they are printed and should last longer.
    Not enjoying the frigid temperatures right now but we should be over it in the next couple of days.
    Regards for now
    Nick

  3. heretherebespiders
    March 30, 2014

    That is very cool that someone found it and responded!

    • Granola
      March 31, 2014

      I thought it was way cool

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 1, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , .

Follow me on Twitter

