Granola

Eighteen and Crunchy

UpCycling- Flannel Firsts

One thing I love to do is take clothing I don’t  want to wear and change it into something I want to wear everyday. I subscribe heavily into the trend of up-cycling. I’m of the make and mend mindset.

I have a stack of old or ruined clothes in my closet. The idea is that I’ll ‘get to them someday’. Well, yesterday I got to two of them.

IMG_5058

One of them was a hoodie hand-me-down from a neighbor boy. I had cut the hood and neck off in ninth grade, trying to make it a cropped sweatshirt. I cut off way too much. It no longer sat on my shoulders at all. It also has a hole in one sleeve.

Fake Flannel

The plain blouse that mimics flannel was a thrift store acquisition. It, unfortunately, now has a few holes in it.IMG_5061

I decided to slip the blouse inside the sweatshirt and sew it so that it looked like I was wearing a flannel under my hoodie. The first thing I did was cut out the bit of the blouse I wanted.

IMG_5064

It looks scarily uneven in this picture. Yeesh. I pinned it in and started sewing.

IMG_5065

I am not a good sewer. I’m not even a proficient sewer. It always starts out well but goes downhill as I get frustrated. Once I had accidentally sewed the back to the front I was about to give up but my mom, ever the sewing savant, stepped in and helped me finish it.

IMG_5071

This is my attempt at showing it being worn. Apparently bathroom selfies aren’t in my skill set. I cannot stress how not disappointed I am about this. Not even a little bit.

IMG_5073

From the front.

IMG_5075

From the back.

IMG_5076

I sewed it so that it looked like the hoodie is curling down over itself. Hopefully with a little wear it will look a little more natural.  My mom even sewed a little patch on the hole on the arm while I was at work.

IMG_5072

She knew I wanted to and she had finished her mending so she decided to do that bit for me. Isn’t she the best?

 

4 comments on “UpCycling- Flannel Firsts

  1. heretherebespiders
    March 30, 2014

    I can’t sew or knit or crochet, either. I try and try and I end up angry with my fingers sewed to my socks. That is a fantastic recovery, well done!

    • Granola
      March 31, 2014

      Thanks! I love to knit but I can’t sew in a straight line to save my life. Doesn’t stop me from trying though. 🙂

  2. amazingopportunitiesnresources
    March 31, 2014

    This is sooooo cool! Great job recycling! For more ideas on how to preserve the environment, check out our recent post!

    • Granola
      April 1, 2014

      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 30, 2014 by in UpCycling and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Follow me on Twitter

