Granola

Eighteen and Crunchy

Sowing Instead of Sewing

I cannot tell you how much I’ve missed this.

IMG_5098

This winter has been especially long and harsh. I’ve missed the sun, warm rains, the sounds of peepers, dirt beneath my feet. Yesterday I carved out an hour between school and Key Club. I had a plan. I was going to create my own little patch of spring.

IMG_5084

I’ve been saving my yogurt and applesauce cups since January, planning to use them for starting seeds in the spring. Holy non-recyclable plastic Batman! Right?

First I whipped up a batch of eggshell tea. I read on a blog, I can’t remember where, back before Chirstmas that you can let a jar of water with some eggshells in it sit for two or four weeks. It becomes a healthy drink for your plants.

IMG_5089

I made up a jelly jar-full to use once the shoots start coming up.

I realized quickly that I wouldn’t have enough potting soil so I went out and gathered up the tops of the mole hills in our yards. Genius or, am I just lazy?  In each cup I put down a base layer and then two seeds, either radish, tomato, or onion. Then a layer of dirt

IMG_5095

I figured using two seeds would give me a better chance at getting growth in each cup. After I got all eighty million cups (okay, not quite that many) planted I lined them upon the window sills in the mudroom.

IMG_5104

I used up all but two of the yogurt cups. I didn’t think until the end that I could use the lids as drainage trays if I poked holes in the bottoms.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 4, 2014 by in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , .

Follow me on Twitter

